My new raincoat – Le manteau

it was difficult for me to finish this proyect. It is about two years that I bought the fabric and the book to sew this raincoat but I have not dared to make it until now. The book is “La couture nature” from Kyoko Sakauchi and it is in french, for this reason ( as I only understand a few words in french ) it was difficult to understand the instructions althought there are some drawings for some of the steps.

The coat is not really a raincoat as the fabric is a heavy cotton as it is stated in the book, which for me here in nord Germany is very useful in spring and summer, as in the evenings can be chill.

This time I tried to finish neatly and more professional for this reason I sewed with french seams and added bias to the edges. It is the first time that I sewed side seam pockets. I used a light cotton with small flowers for them. I am really happy with the reasult.

Here some pictures of it: gabardina

gabardina1 La courure nature
gabardina2 La couture nature

gabardina3 La couture nature

Have a nice weekend
EmmaLuna

